The Money Source Inc. | Complaints

Specialized Loan Servicing, LLC | Complaints

Dear ****** ** ********* ****** and ******* ** ********* ***, 

We are writing in response to a dispute that you filed with the Denver Better Business Bureau (“BBB”)
with regard to the servicing of the above-referenced mortgage loan. We understand that by filing a
dispute with the BBB, you have authorized us to upload a copy of our response to the BBB website. We
further understand that you are requesting the BBB to assist you with SLS’ application of payments to
escrow and contractual monthly payments.

In your correspondence, you have asserted that Specialized Loan Servicing (“SLS”) neglected to include
Private Mortgage Insurance (“PMI”) in a 2017 escrow analysis. Our records reflect that the escrow
analysis statement dated September 8, 2017 failed to include the PMI premiums that were due from
November 2017 through October 2018. Although not included on the September 8, 2017 escrow analysis
statement, SLS still disbursed monthly payments of $167.68 for PMI from December, 2017 through
October 2018. This oversight was corrected on September 11, 2018 when SLS prepared a new escrow
analysis statement in which SLS noted an escrow shortage of $2,913.00. To assist with reducing the
financial burden, the payment due toward the escrow shortage was spread over 60 months. We sincerely
apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced as a result of this matter. We have enclosed
copies of the 2017 and 2018 annual escrow analysis statements for your reference. 

In your correspondence, you have asserted that payments were improperly applied towards the escrow
cushion and that SLS never disclosed information about collecting an escrow cushion. SLS discloses
information about the escrow cushion on each escrow analysis statement. As indicated in the current and
previous escrow analyses, SLS elects to collect a two month cushion, as allowable by law. The lowest
point in the escrow period cannot fall below the cushion of $844.70 currently. As such, an escrow
shortage of $2,018.51 was concluded. Under the Real Estate Settlement Procedures Act (“RESPA”), a
servicer may add an amount to maintain a cushion no greater than 1/6 of the estimated total annual
payments from the account. One-sixth per year equals two months. SLS maintains such a cushion. The
escrow cushion is an additional sum of money required by the lender to be paid into the escrow account 
as part of the monthly escrow payment to protect the lender against increases in escrow expenses.  We
sincerely apologize if this information was never fully communicated to you when speaking with our
representatives by phone. We have enclosed the 2019 annual escrow analysis statement for your
reference.

Read about:   Ocwen Financial Corporation (NYSE:OCN), Bank of America Corporation (NYSE:BAC) - Ocwen Investigated For Self-Dealing, At Homeowners' And Investors' Expense

In your correspondence, you have requested an explanation of the payment history and the status of the
August 1, 2020 payment. Our records reflect that, as of July 1, 2020, $20.51 was held in unapplied funds.
On July 24, 2020 we received your payment of $834.04 for a total of $854.55 in unapplied funds. On
August 5, 2020 we reversed a $1001.06 payment to escrow and added it to unapplied funds for a
combined total of $1,855.61 in unapplied funds. 

On August 5, 2020 we then applied $1,855.61 from unapplied funds towards the July 1, 2020 contractual
monthly payment. That same day, on August 5, 2020 we received a payment from you in the amount of
$1,864.63 and applied that payment to the August 1, 2020 contractual monthly payment. Our records
reflect that the account is due for the September 1, 2020 monthly payment in the amount of $1,860.12.
The current escrow balance is $1,450.78; there are currently no funds held in the unapplied funds.

account. We have enclosed copies of the payment history and payment transaction codes for your
reference.

Please know that, in the event a full monthly mortgage payment is not made, it is the policy of SLS that
funds are placed in the unapplied funds/suspense account until such time a full monthly mortgage
payment is received.

We understand that some of the issues described in your dispute are related to the application of your
payments. Please be advised that our payment posting hierarchy is as follows:

• If payment is greater than a contractual monthly payment the loan will be reviewed for
outstanding fees.
• If there are outstanding fees on the loan, the overage is applied to the fees.  
• If there are no outstanding fees or late charges on the loan, the overage is applied to additional principal. 
• Payment overages are not posted to escrow unless instructed by the borrower.

Read about:   What Factors Affect Home Loan Rates?

The following payment methods allow for posting instructions to be noted by the borrower:

• Payment Coupon – allows additional principal
• ACI payments – allows additional principal and escrow payments
• Live Agent via Phone  – allows specific posting instructions 

In your correspondence, you requested that an SLS agent contact you by phone. On August 6, 2020, we
initiated a request to have an agent call ******* ** ********* *** at ************ regarding the above
information.

If you have any questions regarding this information, please contact Customer Care toll free at *************,

Monday through Friday, 6:00 a.m. until 6:00 p.m. MT. We accept calls from relay services on behalf of

hearing-impaired borrowers.

Sincerely,

190 thoughts on “Specialized Loan Servicing, LLC | Complaints

  1. http://paydayloanusaone.com says:

    Ꭺmazing blog! Do yoou have any suggestions foг aspiring writerѕ?
    I’m planning to start my own website soon ƅut I’m a little lost on eѵerything.
    Ꮤouⅼd y᧐u propose starting with a free platform like Wordpгess or go for a aid option? There are so mzny options out there that I’m completely overwhelmеd ..

    Any tіps? Kudos!

    Feel free to visit my web pagе: checkmate ayday loans (http://paydayloanusaone.com)

  2. Thanks for another informative blog. Where else could I get that type of info written in such a perfect way? I have a project that I’m just now working on, and I have been on the look out for such information.

  3. Write more, thats all I have to say. Literally, it seems as though you relied on the video to make your point. You definitely know what youre talking about, why throw away your intelligence on just posting videos to your weblog when you could be giving us something informative to read?

  4. Crave Freebies says:

    Howdy! I know this is kinda off topic but I was wondering which blog platform are you using for this site? I’m getting sick and tired of WordPress because I’ve had problems with hackers and I’m looking at alternatives for another platform. I would be fantastic if you could point me in the direction of a good platform.

  5. I Fashion Styles says:

    Wow! This can be one particular of the most helpful blogs We’ve ever arrive across on this subject. Actually Great. I’m also a specialist in this topic so I can understand your hard work.

  6. Hairstyles says:

    I am also commenting to make you be aware of of the nice experience my wife’s princess gained reading the blog. She realized so many details, which included how it is like to have an awesome helping heart to get a number of people with ease comprehend a variety of problematic matters. You actually surpassed people’s desires. Thank you for producing these productive, trustworthy, explanatory and also fun tips about the topic to Tanya.

  7. Crave Freebies says:

    My brother suggested I might like this web site. He was totally right. This post actually made my day. You can not imagine simply how much time I had spent for this information! Thanks!

  8. Pingback: tinder if you unmatch someone
  9. Thanks for expressing your ideas. I might also like to express that video games have been ever before evolving. Today’s technology and inventions have helped create reasonable and fun games. Most of these entertainment games were not that sensible when the real concept was first being attempted. Just like other forms of technologies, video games also have had to develop via many many years. This itself is testimony for the fast growth of video games.

  10. Pingback: free country dating sites australia
  11. Hairstyles Vip says:

    Heya i抦 for the first time here. I found this board and I find It truly useful & it helped me out a lot. I hope to give something back and aid others like you aided me.

  12. Fashion Styles says:

    I am continually browsing online for ideas that can assist me. Thx!

  13. Thanks so much for providing individuals with an exceptionally pleasant chance to discover important secrets from this blog. It is always very useful and as well , stuffed with a lot of fun for me personally and my office acquaintances to visit your web site no less than three times a week to see the new secrets you have got. And lastly, I’m so always impressed considering the beautiful techniques served by you. Certain two facts on this page are rather the most effective we’ve had.

  14. Fashion Styles says:

    Valuable info. Fortunate me I found your site unintentionally, and I am stunned why this coincidence didn’t took place in advance! I bookmarked it.

  15. Crave Freebies says:

    According to my observation, after a in foreclosure process home is bought at an auction, it is common to the borrower to be able to still have any remaining balance on the financial loan. There are many creditors who attempt to have all service fees and liens paid by the up coming buyer. Even so, depending on selected programs, restrictions, and state legal guidelines there may be several loans which are not easily sorted out through the switch of lending products. Therefore, the duty still rests on the client that has acquired his or her property in foreclosure process. Thanks for sharing your ideas on this web site.

  16. Lifestyle says:

    Hey! Do you know if they make any plugins to protect against hackers? I’m kinda paranoid about losing everything I’ve worked hard on. Any tips?

  17. Fashion Trends says:

    Thanks for your publication. What I want to say is that when evaluating a good online electronics retail outlet, look for a site with full information on critical factors such as the privacy statement, basic safety details, payment procedures, along with other terms in addition to policies. Continually take time to investigate the help and FAQ pieces to get a superior idea of what sort of shop functions, what they are capable of doing for you, and in what way you can maximize the features.

  18. This is very interesting, You are a very skilled blogger. I’ve joined your feed and look forward to seeking more of your great post. Also, I have shared your website in my social networks!

  19. I know this if off topic but I’m looking into starting my own blog and was wondering what all is needed to get setup? I’m assuming having a blog like yours would cost a pretty penny? I’m not very internet smart so I’m not 100 positive. Any recommendations or advice would be greatly appreciated. Thank you

  20. I Fashion Styles says:

    magnificent points altogether, you simply gained a brand new reader. What would you recommend about your post that you made some days ago? Any positive?

  21. I Fashion Styles says:

    I not to mention my buddies have already been reviewing the best information and facts from the website and then got a terrible suspicion I never thanked you for those tips. All of the young men were as a consequence warmed to read through them and have now very much been having fun with these things. We appreciate you indeed being really accommodating and for figuring out certain useful guides most people are really needing to discover. My very own sincere regret for not expressing gratitude to you sooner.

  22. I抦 not sure where you are getting your information, but good topic. I needs to spend some time learning more or understanding more. Thanks for wonderful info I was looking for this info for my mission.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.